SABC Wins 11 Awards at ATKV MediaVeertjies

Johannesburg- Saturday, 11 May 2019- The South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC) is pleased to announce that it was recognised at the ATKV Mediaveertjies awards which took place on Friday, 10 May 2019. The SABC scooped 11 awards after securing nominations in 15 categories for both Radio (Radio Sonder Grense) and TV(SABC 2) programmes.

With the aim of honouring excellence in Afrikaans broadcasting, this year marks 12years since the inception of the ATKV Mediaveertjies awards. The recognition of SABC talent does not only bear testimony to the high standards and best practices that exist within the organisation, it also serve as an acknowledgment for the SABC’s diverse content offering that resonates with its respective audiences.

This recognition serves as proof of the SABC’s commitment to its mandate and its unwavering focus to thrive in an increasingly competitive landscape. The praise given in this regard, is also owed to our audiences for their loyalty and continuous support.

Radio Sonder Grense had the largest number of 23 finalists in the Listen (radio) category ranging from news and actuality, to documentaries and radio dramas.

The list of the winners is as follows:

Category Winner                                                          Programme- Station
Best presenter of a journal program Sue Pyler Middag op RSG: Ivor Swartz – RSG
Best insert in a journal program Anna-Marie Jansen van Vuuren   Kanarie se musiek tref emosionele note – RSG
Best presenter of a news/actuality program Jody Hendricks   Praat saam: Hannah Cornelius-uitspraak – RSG 
Best insert in a news/actuality program Izak du Plessis   Monitor: Ramaphosa-termyn – RSG
Best journal program Veronique van Heyningen   Middag op RSG – RSG
Best news/actuality program Jody Hendricks,   Praat saam: Nageboorte-depressie – RSG 
Best documentary Martelize Brink Atlantis: Verlore, gevind – RSG
Best insert in an educational program Hanri Wondergem   Monitor: Skenk jou lyk – RSG
Best radio drama script Sophia van Taak Springgety – RSG 
Best radio drama producer Renske Jacobs  Kolskoot Visagie – RSG 
Best insert in a TV actuality program Julie Laurenz 50/50: Hluhluwe iMfolozi Wildreservaat – SABC 2

SABC2 will broadcast the awards ceremony on Sunday, 19 May2019 at 16h30.


Issued By:                  Group Communications

Media Enquiries:       Vuyo Mthembu (SABC Spokesperson)

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.">This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. | T. 011 714 2236 |C. 083 300 9221

Social Media